How to eject a 3″ mini-CD from a MacBook’s SuperDrive

3" Mini-CD

I've squeezed the bastard....

Today I carelessly inserted a 3″ Mini-CD into to the SuperDrive of my beloved MacBook Pro. As the SuperDrive doesn’t accept these discs I was terrified that I’d not be able to get it out. Force ejecting the CD didn’t do much. Some sites suggested that I should resort to use a creditcard and mess around inside the SuperDrive. I regret that I did try it at first because much sensitive stuff is in there and I still didn’t get that damn mini-CD out. However, I opened the Terminal (Applications>Tools>Terminal) and typed ”drutil eject”. I repeated the command by using the up-arrow on the keyboard to repeat it and pressed enter several times. Each time the SuperDrive did it’s best to eject whatever was in there but failed. However I figured if I tilted the computer on the side with the SuperDrive facing downwards and then repeating the command time after time I might get it out. Finally the edge of the cursed mini-CD showed and as final procedure I closed the lid on my MBP and shook it until the mini-CD bastard popped out. Phew!

Tell me if you’ve got other solutions or problems and we can discuss it!

Lämna en kommentar

Inga kommentarer ännu.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Kommentera

